top of page

#ThoughtfulThursday:'It' Items


When meeting a friend recently I commented on her eye-catching charm bracelet. When asking where she got it she simply replied, “You haven’t heard of Nomination bracelets?” Sadly, for me I hadn’t! Should I have heard of it? Is it the must have for 2015? I shuddered at the thought of being ‘out of the loop.’ Then I stopped myself. For someone who welcomes the idea of being a little ‘odd’ and not succumbing to the traditional trends, I scolded myself for not knowing the brand.

As the story of the Nomination bracelets unravelled, I actually had heard of them and had a very similar one as a child. I reflected on the overwhelming anxiety that had surrounded me? For a brief moment I had been sucked into the social pressure of ‘it’ items.

That’s IT

‘It’ items gained their elite status in the 90s when everyone had to have bubble back packs or tattooed choker necklaces but now, it seems, this has extended into everything from TV to nail varnishes. For a brief while, I thought the idea of the ‘it’ item had lost its appeal and people had rejected the notion of meeting the wardrobe ‘status quo’ but with pressures such as social media, celebrity and magazine culture, it looks to have picked up again.

Whilst thinking about our culture I decided to list the alleged ‘it’ items including TV, film and music of 2015. The pastel ‘handbag’ backpack, Nike Huarache’s, Better Call Saul, anything with Ed Sheeran or Sam Smith, Fifty Shades of Grey film, over-the-knee suede boots and ripped Topshop jeans.

The beginning

Well where does all this madness start? I’ve created my own theory - a combination of social media, editorial and ‘it’ girls. Our Instagram feeds are crammed full of celebs such as Millie Macintosh who has manufactured her fame from snapping the hottest hats or nail trends, literally giving the ‘it’ item the seal of approval. Other ‘it’ makers include Alexa Chung, Laura Whitmore and Cara Delevingne. People seem to be totally consumed with their wardrobe decisions.

Our rebellion

Although an ‘it’ item usually dies out quickly another one is there to hog the spotlight. For us humans one of our fundamentals is to want to belong to something or someone and I guess this binds us to the ‘it’ items. What’s sad is, for some people bowler hats or socks and sandals aren’t really their style but they give into the lure of the trend without the confidence to pull it off.

I am breaking out of the social confinements! No, I don’t watch Pretty Little Liars, or own the newest Zara tote, I am buying from Etsy and vintage shops from now on, for unique pieces that I won’t see on Twitter or Facebook. To the unknown, I’m not sure how long it will last but it’s worth a go! This March I am celebrating my ‘it’ independence. You should too!


Subscribe to watch my videos

Instagram: Follow me 

bottom of page